Meet the 2021 Yidan Prize Laureates


After six months of careful deliberation by our independent Judging Committee, we’re delighted to introduce to you our 2021 Yidan Prize Laureates.

Professor Eric Hanushek – 2021 Yidan Prize for Education Research Laureate

Dr Rukmini Banerji – 2021 Yidan Prize for Education Development Laureate

Dr Koichiro Matsuura, Chairman of the Yidan Prize Judging Committee and former Director-General of UNESCO, says: “Every year, we champion individuals or teams who bring game-changing ideas into education research and education development. They’re shaping a brighter future by transforming how we teach and learn.”

He also commented: “Both [Eric and Rukmini] are tackling a crucial piece of the education puzzle: improving quality of education and outcomes for learners. Eric’s research has shown that above all it is the quality of education that underpins the economic health of their nations. Rukmini has led unprecedented work in understanding why some children aren’t leaving school with essential reading and writing skills.”